Lavonte David named Lott Trophy seminfinalists

Nebraska senior linebacker Lavonte David was one of eight players named a semifinalist for the Lott IMPACT Trophy, presented annually to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year.
David was one of five linebackers on the list and one of two players from the Big Ten Conference, along with Ohio State defensive lineman John Simon. The Huskers boast a semifinalist for the award for the second time in three seasons, as Ndamukong Suh was a finalist in 2009.
2011 Lott Trophy Semifinalists
Emmanuel Acho, LB, Texas
Brodrick Brown, DB, Oklahoma State
Lavonte David, LB, Nebraska
Dont’a Hightower, LB, Alabama
Luke Kuechly, LB, Boston College
Chase Minnifield, DB, Virginia
John Simon, DL, Ohio State
Manti Te’o, LB, Notre Dame