Big Red Report–Six named to Big 12 first team

The Big 12 coaches made their selections for the All-Big 12 team and Nebraska had six players on the first team. The first-team selections were led by senior cornerback Prince Amukamara, who was chosen as the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year.
Listen to the Big Red Report
This marks the second consecutive year Nebraska has captured the defensive award following Ndamukong Suh in 2009. Junior linebacker Lavonte David, the league’s second-leading tackler, was selected as Newcomer of the Year as well as a first teamer, and freshman quarterback Taylor Martinez was chosen as the Offensive Freshman of the Year. Other first team selections. Junior defensive tackle Jared Crick made it for the second straight season. Defensive end Pierre Allen made the All-Big 12 team for the first time. Also on the list of first teamers is defensive back Eric Hagg. The Nebraska offense featured one first-team All-Big 12 selection in senior offensive guard Ricky Henry.