Yori and Griffin grab more postseason honors

While Stanford UCONN wrapped up the final slots in the NCAA women’s Final Four, the Huskers grabbed more postseason honors including another Coach of the Year honor for Connie Yori and senior Kelsey Griffin.
Kelsey Griffin made history on Saturday, as the All-America women’s basketball player was chosen Nebraska’s first-ever Senior CLASS Award winner across all sports.
Griffin was chosen by a nationwide vote of Division I women’s coaches, national basketball media and fans. The Senior CLASS Award is presented annually to the most outstanding senior student-athlete in NCAA Division I women’s basketball. The announcement and trophy presentation were made during Saturday’s open practice day at the 2010 NCAA Women’s Final Four in San Antonio.
An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the award focuses on personal qualities that define a complete student-athlete, with criteria including community service, excellence in the classroom, outstanding character and competition on the court.
During the practice in San Antonio, Yori was also was named the 2010 Associated Press National Coach of the Year. Yori was already named the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association and U.S. Basketball Writers Association Coach of the Year. She the Huskers to the best season in school history in 2009-10. Nebraska closed with a program-best 32-2 mark. The Huskers tied a Big 12 record with a 30-game winning streak and became the first Big 12 men’s or women’s team in history to complete an unbeaten regular season (29-0). NU also captured its first-ever Big 12 title, rolling to a perfect 16-0 mark.