Suh is Big 12 defensive player of the year

Ndamukong Suh of Nebraska is the second Cornhusker to receive Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year honors. Grant Winstrom was the other winning in 1996 and 1997. Suh is the second player in Big 12 history to receive both the Defensive Player and Lineman of the Year awards in the same season (Brian Orakpo, Texas – 2008) He is also one of two unanimous first-team selections, joining Colt McCoy.
There were no Huskers on the offensive side of the ball to get 1st team honors. Kicker Alex Henery and running back Roy Helu were 2nd team All Big 12. Joining Suh on the defensive side were Jared Crick, Larry Asante and Prince Amukamara. Linebacker Phillip Dillard was a 2nd team All Big 12 selection.
Gaining honorable mention: Dejon Gomes, DB & Def Nwcmr. of Yr.; Eric Hagg, DB; Alex Henery, P; Jacob Hickman, OL; Mike McNeill, TE; Matt O’Hanlon, DB; Niles Paul, WR; Barry Turner, DL