Beaufort sheriff named SC sheriff of the year

Beaufort County’s top law enforcement officer has been named Sheriff of the Year for South Carolina. The South Carolina Sheriff’s Association awarded Sheriff P.J. Tanner the honor after more than 10 years as sheriff.
TannerĀ also served on the South Carolina Law Enforcement Training Council and as an executive board member on the Law Enforcement Coordinating Committee for the United States Attorney’s Office.
The Associated Press reported Tanner’s office says the sheriff helped develop a regional lab for drug analysis, as well as a bomb squad and search and rescue dive team. Jasper County Sheriff Gregory Jenkins nominated Tanner to be given the award. Tanner received the honor during an awards banquet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *