Chadron picked to win RMAC

Chadron State football was picked as the top team in the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, according to their preseason poll. The Eagles have won three straight RMAC titles and have a 27 game conference winning streak.  They received six first place votes ahead of second place Colorado School of Mines and Nebraska-Kearney who was picked third, received one first place vote.
The Eagles are well represented on the preseason all-conference team with seven total selections including senior placekicker Travis Atter of Buffalo, Wyo., who is the RMAC Preseason Special Teams Player of the Year.
Offensive selections include senior wide receiver Brandon Harrington (Grand Island, Neb.), senior inside receiver Isaac Stockton (Colorado Springs, Colo.), senior offensive tackle Ben Puffer (Hot Springs, S.D.) and junior offensive guard Tim Hiett (Arvada, Colo.).  Senior linebacker Duke Eardley (Mountain View, Wyo.) is on the defensive unit, while Atter and sophomore kick returner Maurice Threatts (Clearwater, Fla.) are on special teams.
UNK had six overall selections (four offensive and two defensive).
Making the team were senior center Jack Hiett (Arvada, Colo.), senior corner Ozzie Smith (Bellevue West), senior safety Jake Mandelko (Lexington), junior receiver Kyle Kaiser (Broomfield, Colo.) and sophomore running backs Rustin Dring (Kearney) and Riley Newcomer (Morrison, Colo.).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *