LSU claims 6th Nat'l Championship

The LSU Tigers scored five runs in the sixth inning to break open a tie game and roll to an 11-4 victory over Texas in Game 3 of the CWS Championship Finals and claim their sixth NCAA Division I Championship and first for head coach Paul Mainieri.
LSU ties Texas for the second-most national championships for any school, behind only USC 12 titles. It’s also the first national championship for the Tigers since 2000. Texas, the number one seed now runs the streak to 10 years in which the top team has not won the Championship.
Texas’s Kevin Keyes homered in the bottom of the fifth inning to tie the game at 4-4, but LSU pulled away in the top of the sixth. After a leadoff walk by CWS Most Outstanding Player Jared Mitchell, Mikie Mahtook doubled to right center, driving in Mitchell and giving the Tigers a 5-4 lead. An error and sacrifice fly scored Mahtook. A walk and two hit batsman scored another LSU run to make the score 7-4, and Sean Ochinko’s single scored two more to cap the scoring in the sixth.
Mitchell also got things started early for LSU when he launched a three run homer in the first innings. The Tigers were up 4-0 in the second inning, but three walks led to Texas getting two runs in the third before Keyes’ tying homer.
Listen to LSU comments from Mainieri and Mitchell LSU postgame and from Texas head coach Auggie Garrido Texas postgame.
It was also a new Rosenblatt Stadium record for attendance. 336,076 breaking last year’s record by nearly 6,000 fans.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.