The National Weather Service says South Carolina is “StormReady”

South Carolina is one of only four states to receive the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s “StormReady” recognition. Lt. Governor Andre Bauer and South Carolina Emergency Management Representative Ron Osbourne accepted the designation Monday. Kim Campbell is the head meterologist at South Carolina’s weather office and she says this recognition is a multi-step process that consists of much communication.
“The program is a lot about being able to receive emergency weather information and then also transmitting that to the public and each county has to come up with a weather hazardous event plan, how they will react when they get word that severe weather is approaching. They also have to be able to receive our warnings via television or radio or internet or other computer system. They also have to be able to get that message out to their county,” says Campbell.
Campbell says the Emergency Management Deparment assisted the smaller counties in the state with the funding needed to receive these technical requirements. South Carolina joins Hawaii, Florida, and Delaware as a “StormReady” state, which means every county in the state must meet the national requirements. The program started up in Oklahoma in 1999.