Omaha Sports Hall of Fame voting now open

Shane Bradford, committee Chairman of the Omaha Sports Hall of fame, announced that the public can now cast their ballots to select the 2008 class of inductees into the Omaha Sports Hall of Fame. The public is encouraged to cast their votes at
Voting will close at 5 p.m. on Mon., Feb. 9, 2009. “Once again, we have an outstanding list of nominees to choose from. With Omaha’s great sports history, the selection process doesn’t get any easier in our third year,” said Bradford.

The class of 2009 will be announced on Wed., Feb. 11. This year’s nominees includes Dana Altman, Don Benning, Rick Bonness, Ron Boone, Jackie Brandt, Phil Cahoy, Al Caniglia, Lloyd Cardwell, Barney Cotton, Mike Denny, Pat Fischer, Fred Hare, Dave Hoppen, Maurtice Ivy, Charles “Deacon” Jones, Ron Kellogg, Rod Kush, the 1939 McDevitt’s Baseball Team, Mike McGee, Moto McLean, Tom Novak, Bill Olsen, Greg Olsen, Omaha, Homer Smith, Erick Strickland, Kerry Trotter and Bob Warming.

The induction ceremony and banquet for the class of 2009 will take place on Wed., April 29, 2009, at the Embassy Suites – Old Market.
In addition to recognizing the inductees, the Omaha Sports Hall of Fame will honor a male and female “Athlete of the Year” for their contributions the past year. For ticket information, please contact Shane Bradford.