Chadron clinches conference championship

The Chadron State College football team clinched the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference championship Saturday afternoon by downing Mesa State 27-16 before a large crowd on a perfect autumn afternoon.
The win was CSC’s 26th consecutive conference victory and it also insured the Eagles their third straight RMAC championship since Colorado School of Mines defeated Nebraska-Kearney 37-20. The last school to win more than two titles in a row was Mesa State. The Mavericks were conference champions from 1985-88.
The No. 13 ranked Eagles are now 9-1 for the season and 8-0 in the RMAC with only a home game against Western State on Saturday to wrap-up the regular season.
Chadron State limited the Mavericks to one touchdown and three field goals, while the Eagles posted three TDs and a pair of field goals. Both teams missed a field goal.
Chadron State led 17-13 at halftime after the teams turned in a pair of back-to-back electrifying plays.
Mesa State made the first one, an 83-yard pass play from quaterback Phil Vigil to wide receiver Justin Murray. Chadron State responded on the ensuing kickoff when freshman Maurice Threatts romped 98 yards to the opposite end of the field.
Murray caught his home run ball about 20 yards downfield after running a crossing pattern and then raced down the left sideline. He was wide open when he caught the ball and none of the Eagles could run him down.
Threatts’ kickoff return was special. He caught the ball at the two, ran straight ahead a few yards, broke to his right for about 15 yards and then continued straight up the field. CSC personnel along the sideline said he did most of the run “on his own.” The return ties for the second longest in Eagles’ history, just a yard shy of J.D. Hill’s record against Midland Lutheran in 1980 and matching Mark Sholtz’ 98-yard ramble against Minot State in 1977.