Fresno State, College World Series Champions!

Steve Detwiler hit two home runs and drove in all six Fresno State runs as they become the lowest seed ever in NCAA Division I sports to win a national championship by beating Georgia 6-1.

Detwiler’s two-run home run in the second inning gave Fresno State the lead for good. In the fourth, Detwiler added an RBI double and his two-out, three-run homer in the sixth gave Fresno State a 6-0 lead.
While Detwiler was giving Fresno State the offense, starter Justin Wilson was shutting down Georgia. Wilson pitched eight innings and allowed just one run on five hits while striking out nine. Brandon Burke got the final three outs in the ninth.
Fresno State becomes the first regional four-seed to win a national championship since the bracket expanded to 64 teams in 1999. During its run, Fresno State had to beat the number two national seed North Carolina twice, the number three national seed Arizona State twice, the number six national seed Rice once and the number eight national seed Georgia twice.
Fresno State wins the national title with a 47-31 record while Georgia finishes as national runner-up with a 45-25-1 mark.
Wilson and Detwiler were both on the MCWS all-tournament team while teammate Tommy Mendonca was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Player.
Fresno coach Mike Batesol, Steve Detwiler, and pitcher Justin Wilson talk about the win.  Georgia coach David Perno talks about his program and Gordon Beckham gives props to Fresno State